Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
KCC > Community > College Info > Board of Trustees

Meet KCC's Board of Trustees


Standing L-R: Justin Hasselbring, John Avendano, Richard J. Frey, Todd Widholm, Bill Orr, Claire Chaplinski. Sitting: Patrick Martin, Brad Hove, Jerry Hoekstra, Cathy Boicken. 

KCC is governed by a seven-member, elected board of trustees which convenes monthly on the Riverfront Campus at 100 College Drive, Kankakee. Most meetings are held on the second Monday of each month at 5 p.m. The board is responsible for establishing institutional policies, approving financial expenditures and the tax levy, and appointing and supervising the college president.

Current board

Jerald W. Hoekstra of St. Anne serves as board chair; he has been a trustee since 1991. Brad Hove of Bourbonnais, a trustee since 2006, is vice-chair. Patrick D. Martin of Manteno, a trustee since 2004, is secretary.

Other seated trustees, and the years they joined the board, are: Richard J. Frey of St. Anne, 2001; Todd Widholm of Clifton, 2010; Bill Orr of Reddick, 2014; and Cathy Boicken of Bourbonnais, 2015. 

Annually, a student is selected to represent student interests by serving with the board of trustees. The student representative for 2017-18 is Justin Hasselbring.

Claire Chaplinski serves as legal counsel, Vicki Gardner as treasurer, Karen Slager as recording secretary, and Dr. John Avendano is KCC's president.

Trustee Emeriti

Hugh Van Voorst of Union Hill was named Trustee Emeritus in April 2014. He served as trustee from 1980 to 2014, and as chairman from 1995 to 2014. Betty Meents of Watseka was named Trustee Emeritus in April 2015. With 39 years on the board, from 1976 to 2015, she was the longest serving board member in the college's history. 

Contact the board

Comments and questions for the board can be sent to