Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
KCC > Faculty & Staff > Departments > Human Resources > Committee Assignments

Committee Assignments

Each year, KCC staff, administrators and faculty are encouraged to volunteer to serve on a committee. KCC's committees may advise the president and other administrators on matters of importance to the operation of the college.

Committee chairs are responsible for ensuring that recommendations of the committee are appropriately channeled through the college's organizational structure for further consideration.

For more information, such as members, AQIP (Academic Quality Improvement Program) categories and liaisons, review the 2017-18 College Committees chart.

Academic Appeals

Purpose: To review requests for waiver of academic regulations.
Chair: Melissa Weston 
Recorder: Judy Downey


Behavioral Intervention

Purpose: To proactively review the behavior of individuals about whom concerns are expressed, determine if intervention is needed, and ensure that those interventions take place.
Chair: David Hermann
Recorder: Sharon Hoogstraat


Career Pathways

Purpose: To improve regular and sustained interaction with area employers in critical and high-demand industries, to create programs and occupational opportunities to meet employers' needs; and to enhance opportunities for students to achieve their educational and career goals, while promoting an environment of excellence and innovation.
Chair: Darla Jepson
Recorder: TBD 


Communications Committee

Purpose: To promote two way communications. Representatives are encouraged to bring ideas and suggestions to the meetings. Representatives also need to share information with the employees that are being represented.
Chair: Vicki Gardner
Recorder: Michelle Weishaar


  • John Avendano (resource)
  • David Cagle (resource)
  • Michael O'Connor (resource)
  • Rich Soderquist (resource)
  • Mark Anderson
  • Jane Clark
  • Lisa DeLaCruz-Thomas
  • Liz East
  • Laura Gardner
  • Dawn Graveline
  • Josh Gregoire
  • Deb Hoyer-Denson
  • Rob Kenney
  • Deanna Liacone
  • Sarah Nelson
  • Chris Schilling
  • Ellen Schmidt
  • John Shivers

Community Partnerships

Purpose: To take a convening leadership role to strengthen and sustain community partnerships by improved understanding of community challenges and increased engagement and partnership development with K-12 system, employers, and community partners while promoting an environment of excellence and innovation. Includes the Strengthen and Sustain Community Partnerships Action Project.
Co-Chairs:  Ken Crite and Mike Boyd


Curriculum and Academic Standards

Purpose: To review all programs and courses of instruction; to recommend additions, revisions and deletions of programs/courses.
Chair: Michael Boyd
Recorder: Dawn Bennett


Data for Success and HLC

Purpose: To assist with the accreditation process; the integration of cultural diversity college-wide; the oversight of quality improvement efforts and the inculcation of a continuous process improvement philosophy college-wide; and the oversight of a regular Systems Portfolio process, including the research, writing and periodic review of the Systems Portfolio. Includes the Systems Portfolio, Cultural Diversity, and Continuous Process Improvement committees.

  • Co-Chairs: Purva Rushi and Sheldon Walcher
  • Recorder: Liz Becvar

    Embracing Diversity

  • Co-Chairs: Francesca Catalano and David Cagle
  • Recorder:  TBD


    Faculty Development

    Purpose: To identify and implement programs and activities which assist faculty members in their continuing professional growth, including faculty in-service days and other avenues for professional growth.
    Chair: John Bordeau
    Recorder: TBD

    Foundational Coursework

    Purpose: To redesign and rebuild foundational (remedial) education. Includes the Redesign Developmental Education Structure, Curriculum, and Pedagogy Action Project.
    Co-chairs: Jennifer Huggins,
    Recorder: TBD


    Online Leadership

    Purpose: To provide direction, leadership, and support to the college's instructional technology initiatives; to assist in providing support to faculty by shaping the guidelines, policy, and procedures regarding online and hybrid instruction and to serve as mentors to newer online instructors.
    Chair: Rexann McKinley
    Recorder: TBD

    Safety and Security

    Purpose: To promote a safe environment for all campus constituents; considers matters relative to emergency preparedness, risk management, and security
    Chair: Richard Soderquist
    Recorder: Jane Clark


    • Sheri Cagle
    • Jane Clark
    • Liz East
    • Jacob Fansler
    • Jamal Hawkins
    • Katie Henry
    • Cathi Hughes
    • Stella Mausehund
    • Mary Polka
    • Rich Soderquist
    • Judy Spence
    • Eric Springer
    • Jeff Stubler
    • Brian Yeoman


    Strategic Planning and Oversight Committee (SPOC)

    Purpose: To oversee the collaborative development and evaluation of the college’s strategic goals, and recommend new or revised quality improvement processes.
    Chair: Michael Boyd
    Recorder: Judy Downey


    Student Learning

    Purpose: To develop, revise and monitor the implementation of the college's plan for measuring its effectiveness in meeting established learning outcomes for students.

    Chair: Denise Caparula
    Recorder: TBD